SKIMO WORLD CUP 2019, LE DÉVOLUY: Matteo Eydallin at the photo finish won the Individual race and Axelle Mollaret triumphed among women


The weather conditions were difficult for the first race of the third stage of the 2019 ISMF World Cup. In the Provençal ski resort of Superdévoluy, the Local Organising Committee was forced to an extraordinary maintenance in order to realise a competition that guaranteed the minimum safety conditions for the athletes and the spectators.







At the end, the insiders opted for a track of 440 metres that the Junior Women faced 2 times (with a total positive difference in height of 880 metres), the Junior Men and the Senior Women 3 times (with a positive difference in altitude of 1320 metres), while the Senior Men 4 times (with a difference in height of 1760 metres). In the highlight of the competition, Italy was immediately protagonist with the trio formed by Robert Antonioli, Michele Boscacci and Matteo Eydallin, who demonstrated a truly hard-fought rhythm. The only one able to hold their own was the transalpine William Bon Mardion. The Italy-France challenge continued until the last exchange when Matteo Eydallin (ITA) passed Michele Boscacci (ITA) and got the first position with a time of 1h26’56”. The third place was for William Bon Mardion (FRA), while the Italian Robert Antonioli and the German Anton Palzer took respectively the fourth and the fifth positions.

Among Senior Women, there has always been only one woman in command, the transalpine Axelle Gachet Mollaret, who crossed the finish line with a time of 1h16’17”. The Spanish Claudia Galicia Cotrina (2° place) and the Italian Alba De Silvestro (3° place), the author of a great comeback, were on the podium with her.

The Espoirs Davide Magnini (ITA) and Giulia Murada (ITA) and the Juniors Giovanni Rossi (ITA) and Ekaterina Osichkina (RUS) were the winners in the young categories.

Full results

Senior Men
1. Matteo Eydallin (ITA)
2. Michele Boscacci (ITA)
3. William Bon Mardion (FRA)

Senior Women
1. Axelle Gachet Mollaret (FRA)
2. Claudia Galicia Cotrina (ESP)
3. Alba De Silvestro (ITA)

Espoir Men
1. Davide Magnini (ITA)
2. Thibault Anselmet (FRA)
3. Maximilien Drion Du Chapois (BEL)

Espoir Women
1. Giulia Murada (ITA)
2. Mara Martini (ITA)
3. Ilaria Veronese (ITA)

Junior Men
1. Giovanni Rossi (ITA)
2. Sebastien Guichardaz (ITA)
3. Patrick Perreten (SUI)

Junior Women
1. Ekaterina Osichkina (RUS)
2. Emilie Farquet (SUI)
3. Samantha Bertolina (ITA)





SKIMO WORLD 2019: PHOTO GALLERY (Maurizio Torri)






Info by Mayayo Oxígeno for Trailrunningspain